…on music

Music soothes my soul.

I love all kinds of music, I find peace in it. Or sometimes anger, frustration, elation, love, or joy. Depends on my mood. I remember my mom telling me once that she always knew what kind of mood I was in by the music I played. I remember thinking, yeah right! Of course, as an adult, I now know that she was definitely right.

Recently they’ve been playing a Target commercial that features some young people playing bocce ball with some elders, and the elders kick their butt. Love it! What I realize is that I enjoy watching not only the fun of their interaction, but also because the music makes me want to be there with them. Marlena Shaw, thank you! Music does that to me. I love music in film for the same reason — it takes me someplace that I’ve never been, and allows me to become a voyeur to some imagined event. I love how music can ascend and then crash, become light and then return with full bass, how it accelerates in and out and swirls all around. I can feel it.

Lately I’ve been playing Florence and the Machine. She has an ethereal voice and I like her lyrics as well as the musical arrangement of her songs. Last week I saw a world hip-hop concert featuring Blitz the Ambassador, and a group Marthin Chan and Malverde who closed their set with a Spanish version of Dead Prez’ “It’s Bigger Than Hip-Hop” — yes, that was hot!  Blitz was amazing – I’ve never even heard of him before. He and his band gave us a little musical history lesson as an intro.  But that’s what I love about music – you could discover new music every day for the rest of your life and never be able to listen to all that the world has to offer. The possibilities are endless.  Since I watched part of American Idol this past season and Scotty won (go-Scotty-go since I knew you were going to win from the day you auditioned – yes, ask my co-workers), now I want to explore some country music. I like certain songs but I’ve never actively sought it out until Scotty.

Raise your expectations and release your assumptions when it comes to music.  If you see me driving on your street, I might be blasting Achi Lagti Ho or something from Khaira Arby’s musical trove. Or I may be in a Florence kind of mood… Happiness hit her, like a train on a track…

Varied, ’cause that’s how I do.

Leave a Reply

