…life lesson #1…Do It Now

Ahhh, procrastination.

My least favorite habit, but my constant companion. It’s been a while and now its time to kick its ass.

Every day.

It is a challenge to reprogram this philosophy that has insidiously crept into my everyday vernacular — “Oh, I’ll do it tomorrow when I have more time, when I feel better, when the light falls just right” – yadda yadda and so on. Oh, but I get it done – I always do. By the skin of my teeth – that rush of adrenaline before the hammer drops.

I am not proud of this habit.  Isn’t the first step of addiction proclaiming that you have an addiction? Ok, so I must be addicted to it because its always lurking around.  I’ve been claiming that I am going to get a new kitchen table set for about a year now. So I can throw more intimate couple gatherings with brie, fig spread and a new wine I just discovered from Trader Joe’s.  Yep, its been over two years since I last proclaimed that, and my oversized kitchen table is looking quite pathetic since its

still.        sitting.       there.

Here’s how I am changing the status quo – every time I attempt to put off a task I don’t want to do, I yell to myself in my head

Then I get my ass up and do it immediately. It seems to be working. The old kitchen table better soak up its last days in the sun because I’m trekking to the monthly swap meet in search of its replacement. That’s in one week.

Leave a Reply

