…water, water, everywhere and not a drop to drink

Taking care of a farm is interesting. You have to go along with the ebb and flow of the country life, otherwise you might blow a gasket.

-it's a little dry here

Today we woke up to the disappointment of no running water throughout the house.  I came down to wash my face and put my SPF 30 on and niente.  However I am thankful that I was at least able to wash my hands after taking a pee. Yeah, I said it.

We don’t expect the water to be fixed today since the utility company said they wouldn’t be out here until tomorrow. Maybe.  I hear things in Italy are a bit s.l.o.w.  And who knows? It might not get fixed then either. I’d really like to take a real shower and wash my hair — we made a burn pile today and I did so much transporting of branches back and forth that I’m icky and smell like smoke.

We’re using well water (can’t drink it!) and the local community water reps brought over fresh drinking water that we will use until our water is fixed.  I’m also expecting to go out with some local friends tomorrow.  Not if I can’t take a shower!

What a time to be without any water to wash…

2 thoughts on “…water, water, everywhere and not a drop to drink

  1. I am so jealous and happy for you all at once. I admire greatly your going to Italy alone and having such a beautiful experience. I read once that you should be able to look back as an old person and have a romance that is juicy enough to talk about, speak a foreign language travel to a land that you admire…etc, that those thing and more make life worth living. I eagerly await your next post. il bello della vita

    1. Aww thanks Michelle! Have you done all those things you mentioned in your comment? If not, it is never too late to begin. Don’t let others determine your life path — begin to create it for yourself right now. Where do you want to go? What language do you want to speak? What type of juicy romance do you want? All these things are possible for you.

Leave a Reply

