…I have arrived to the city

Ciao i miei amici!

I have arrived to the city of Rome, and what a change! I think I must have become used to the Roman country lifestyle because I feel like a fish out of water here. Nothing changes your perspective of a situation until you are removed from it. I awoke to beeping cars instead of the crowing of a cock.

i have attended my first day of Italian language classes and I really like it. We have rotating instructors, which is great because they have their own teaching styles. I also enjoy my fellow classmates – all ages and nationalities.  Even though I am 6000 miles away, one of my classmates is from Playa Del Rey! And she’s Black!  Small world.

The route from home to school is so short – about a 20 minute walk. Its not the best area, being on the edge of Chinatown and the Termini station. However I’m calculating safer routes, which, funny enough, include traversing Termini station.

I shopped at a local supermarket for the first time by myself – nerve-wracking!! I shopped for over an hour for 10 basic items. I don’t know what I’m doing! I don’t know what I’m reading! I just take an educated guess and hope I don’t kill myself buying dish detergent instead of vinegar. Don’t worry, I’m not that daft. But it is troublesome not being able to explain yourself in a food situation, when food is so near and dear to my heart.

There is something about the Italian supermarkets that I wish the US would employ. In the produce sections of these markets, they have disposable gloves that you must wear before you handle the food. Great idea! It would be especially handy for those nasty shoppers who have colds and pick all over the food while attempting to stifle a cough.
While I enjoy the hustle and bustle of city life and seeing people regularly, I do miss the country. Its much more peaceful.

Regardless, overall, I had a good day!

Leave a Reply

