…you think you know so damn much…

Did you know that when you are referring to a ‘transient’, that you pronounce it TRAN-shint, not TRAN-see-int, or TRAN-zee-int?

Did you know that short-lived is pronounced with a long i and not a short one, as in strive, not give?

I did not, and I’ve been mispronouncing it for years. Why didn’t someone tell me? Probably because they thought they knew too.

You know how you go around thinking you know so damn much? You get caught up in your day-to-day and forget to learn new things?  Yeah, I jumped off that bandwagon a long time ago.

I love learning something new everyday. Sometimes two.

2 thoughts on “…you think you know so damn much…

  1. First of all, I love reading your posts. Second, transient is actually pronounced both ways, as is short-lived…according to Webster’s Dictionary. Pronunciation is often not absolute so, you haven’t been wrong, you just didn’t know there was an option.

  2. Well, thank you Kai for both compliments! I don’t how old my dictionary is (its pretty old and pretty thick with a hardcover), but it only gave the option above – which I had to check when I came across the discrepancy.

Leave a Reply

