…on death and dying

Today I learned that a fellow SGI (Soka Gakkai International) member had passed away. She had  been fighting cancer, and my entire district (and probably beyond) had been chanting an abundance of daimoku (a mantra, Nam Myoho Renge Kyo) for her recovery.

I was not close to her — I met her only a few times at one of our meetings. However I remember that she had such an infectious smile, and she made gratitude journals for all of us, and I remember thinking how generous it was of her to do so. I still have that gratitude journal, which will now hold a different meaning for me in the future.

Life is precious.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

